Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Terrible Twos X 2!




My babies, wait that needs to be a little more dramatic so you can get the feel of how I feel, MY BAAAABIES have turned 2! I can't believe it. Although it seems like they have been a part of our family always, it seems like I was just pregnant with them yesterday. Boy have there been some ups and downs with these two. They are great babies, really just having 2 of them can get hairy. They love each other dearly but they fight, oh do they fight. I play referee a lot through out the day. Lucas likes to wrestle and pull hair and Lexi doesn't like to be wrestled and have her hair pulled, so you can see the dilema. We had a party at the house. Lots of people showed up to celebrate with us and the kids loved it. The party was Toy Story themed, what else? I made little cakes that were suppose to look like spaceships, I won't say what they ended up looking like. I decided that those were my last birthday cakes to make, yes they were that bad. Not that the kids cared one bit :)





Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Thanks

Thanksgiving has come and gone. I am still in the spirit of giving Thanks though. I have so many things to be thankful for, 4 of them are in this picture above. I thank God every day, several times some days for the husband He blessed me with. I thought I may not be able to have children, God blessed with 3. I didn't think I would ever be able to stay home with my children, God blessed me with that chance. I am a sinner but I am saved. God saved little ol' me. Do I deserve any of this, no but I have it by His grace. I have so much love for my family but it is nothing compared to the love God has for us. I am nothing. I am a dirty sinner. I am a Momma that yells when she gets upset, I get mad at my husband for small stupid thing, I am not the friend I always could be to others but God loves me regardless and forgives me. He helps me to forgive myself too. Forgiveness is such a wonderful beautiful thing, really. Having hate in your heart is hard. It weighs you down and causes you pain. Just let go. Give it to the Lord. He will help you, I promise. It may not happen over night but keep on praying. God forgives and he will help you forgive. I have so much on my mind lately. I don't know what God has in store for us in the future but I know He will be in it. I can see him using our children to get to us. The other night we sat down to eat and forgot to pray. Lane is usually the one that reminds us, but as we were having pizza he forgot. I look over at my sweet, almost 2 baby girl and see her sitting there with her hands clasped smiling from ear to ear as as she says, "Pay Mumma, Pay!" I could have cried. So we prayed and gave thanks for our beautiful, wonderful children that are one of God's most precious gifts.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Sometimes us girls need a break

Sometimes us girls just need a break from all the boys! Having 2 brothers can be hard on a little Princess. Lucas wrestles her and loves to pull her pretty hair. So sometimes when the boys have been extra hard on my Princess I like to take her in the bathroom and have girl time. She loves it. It usually involves fixing her hair and painting her toe nails. Never knew these things could make a 23 month old so happy, lol. She loves it and I really enjoy it also.

Monday, November 8, 2010

Just to see you smile....


Just to see you smile, I'd do anything that you wanted me to. When all is said and done, I'd never count the cost. It's worth all that's lost, just to see you smile.
My oldest is 4 1/2 and he still smiles like this all the time. That smile that shows how thrilled he is to be doing whatever it is he is doing. Look at that smile, wouldn't you do whatever you could to see it? He is so loving and has such a kind heart. He is the most innocent 4 yr old I've ever met. Maybe we have sheltered him to much, I don't know. I hope he never loses the joy behind that big ol' open mouth smile. Momma loves you to the moon big boy.

Happy Belated Halloween!



Saturday, October 2, 2010

Making Memories





I love this last picture. It looks like Lane was telling the scarecrow his secrets. When I was little we made these scarecrow / pumpkin head men, whatever you want to call them and I loved it. For some reason we stopped, I don't remember why but I just thought of it this year and knew we had to do it! I knew Lane would LOVE it and I was right :) So after a busy, tiring, insane day of shopping. grocery and clothes, we came home and made this guy. We had so much fun. I look forward to doing this every year. I want to make many memories with our children and have fun little traditions we do with them every year. I love them so much and feel so blessed every time I look at their beautiful smiling faces and I had many chances to see those smiles while we made this guy.

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Zit Cream and Wrinkle Cream

Here I am at 26 yrs old and I am seeing wrinkles and zits. Shouldn't it be one or the other? Really do I need to have both at the same time? Is it necessary? I was at Fred's the other day buying zit cream and wrinkle reducer, lol. I just find that hilarious for some reason. My hubby was taking pictures of me the other day, just acting silly, with that high priced camera of ours and when I looked at the pictures I was shocked at how awful my skin looked! "Does it look like that in real life?" I asked "It's just a really good camera and shows everything," he answered, not the answer I wanted. So I then had to learn to photoshop, LOL! Come on you know all the magazines do it, why can't I to feel a little better about my skin? I didn't take off any of chins of anything so it is still the real "me" just with a prettier complexion and when people on facebook commented on how pretty my picture was I didn't even tell. Is that wrong? Well I am telling now. My skin is not that smooth. I wish it were. I wonder if other women are buying zit cream and wrinkle cream together for themselves.........

Monday, September 13, 2010

Please Press Pause!




I will be the first to admit, after Lexi and Lucas were born it was HARD! We had 2 newborn babies and a wild 2 yr old boy that was having issues from missing his Mama and Daddy. Those first few months we were just going on autopilot. We just did what we could to get by basically. We tried to enjoy it and did, but it was also very hard and draining. I wouldn't have it any other way but I am just telling the truth here.
Now here we are almost 2 yrs later :) This is what I was looking forward to. This is why I wanted our children to be close in age, I didn't expect twins but it is a tremendous blessing. It is still overwhelming and hard at times but it is getting better and better and I LOVE IT!
I still get stressed and have little melt downs but that is happening less and less.
Now my complaint is that it is going by to fast! Can we PLEASE PRESS PAUSE?

Lane ( my big boy)---- is 4 yrs old! That is OLD!! Now a Preschooler and doing wonderful, thank you very much. The teachers and workers say he is the most loving child they have ever seen.......hmmmm that's a lot different from the experience we had just LAST year. The only bad thing is that I miss him SO much. If he weren't doing so good and loving it so much I would take him out and just keep him home with me, but that would break his heart. He is starting speech which is a great thing, he really needs it. Lane is so much fun at this age. He comes up with the funniest thing and keeps Donny and me laughing all the time. He loves to tell us "stordies" that always start out with, "One upon a time there was a......BOY!" and then makes up the silliest stories ever. We love it. He always wants to make Mama happy (smart boy) and hates for you to be upset with him. He has such a sweet heart and is so full of love and joy. He still has that beautiful red hair and his eyes seem to get bluer every time I look at them. Going to school has helped him to overcome many things. Before when I would ask him to try to draw things he would not. He would whine and say, "I can't. You do it," always. Never wanted to try. Now he comes home from school and wants to draw! That may not sound like much to you but it is HUGE for this child. He is going through all of our paper but we aren't complaining :) Our fridge is full of things he has made. He is still just a scribbler but that is fine by me, he has come such a long way. Lane is very protective of his brother and sister. He CAN be so sweet with them and usually is until Lucas picks on him, yes Lucas picks on HIM! That does make Lane lose his cool which I can't blame him because little brother can be pretty rotten. We are trying to teach him to just tell us and not to deal with it himself because Lane is so much bigger and could really hurt Lucas. He pretty much lets Lexi have her way. Yea she is loving that. He even calls her "Princess" sometimes, thanks to Daddy. He loves to make us happy. Donny worked late the other night and Lane begged me to let him paint so I FINALLY agreed. I was very hesitant at first because he has always been so messy and I just didn't want to deal with it that night while I was alone and had so much to do. He did great. He had so much fun and painted all evening. I am so glad I gave in and let him have that fun. He was so proud. He even had to show his brother and sister the paintings. He kept saying over and over, "Daddy is just going to wove my pictures. He will just wove 'em!" and he did!

Lexi (the Princess)----This girl has more sass in her than most teenagers! Not that is is bad or anything she has plenty of sweetness to go with all that sass but woo, I didn't think I would have to deal with that until she was a little older. She is a heart melter though. Lexi loves giving me big squeeze your neck hugs and I just eat 'em up! She gives great sugars that involve poking out her bottom lip and after the kiss saying Mwuah! She loves her brothers and tries to play rough with them but always ends up hurt, she just isn't rough enough. She is tough, probably the toughest actually but not rough, if that makes sense. This girl makes the funniest faces I have ever seen! She still babies Lucas and even calls him Baby. That is his name to her and she treats him like her baby. She rubs his hair and wipes his nose like she is his mommy, and he lets her :) Lexi is very much a Momma's girl but loves her Daddy like crazy too. Daddy doesn't even call her Lexi, it's Princess to him. I don't think she will even answer him if he calls her Lexi. She has great speech and can say a lot of things but she is not a talker. She will say things when we are alone and I ask her too, she makes you look like your crazy if you ask her to talk in front of other people though. She is becoming shy more and more, which is funny because she was not a shy baby. She is my little dancer. The girl has skillz! She has rhythm like you wouldn't believe! I think she got all of our boys rhythm because those poor boys just don't have it. That's okay their Daddy doesn't either, lol. I love the way she comes to me and says "Mumma Mumma!"
Having her toe nails painted is one thing she loves, along with having her hair done but only if she gets to go in Mommy's bathroom and have it done, just her and Mommy. We do this when the boys have upset her by being to rough, which happens A LOT. She doesn't care about toys to much, she would rather sit with me and read a book or just cuddle, which is fine by me because neither of the boys would ever sit still long enough for that.

Lucas ( Baby)----One word- rotten!! Lucas can be so mean and rotten but then run to you and give you that smile that makes you almost forget how mean he was, almost. He is a cry baby, I'm not being mean, it's true. His feelings get hurt very easily. Pretty much when anyone besides me tells him no or gets on to him, his is heart broken. He has the saddest sad face ever, it breaks my heart and makes me baby him more, I can't help it! He LOVES hanging out with bigger boys. He drives Lane nuts, steals his food, kicks him, hits him, acts like he is going to bite him, all just wanting his attention. I like to think he is a Momma's boy but he also LOVES spending time with Daddy. It's Momma he wants when he is hurt or something though, that counts for something, right? You can always tell if he's up to no good because of the look on his face. He grits his teeth in a smile when he is being bad, it is really cute, lol. He is so rough. I would almost say he is rougher than Lane was, almost. He has the best manners. Always says thank you. Lexi says it a lot too, but sometimes she forgets, Lucas never forgets. Lucas is just so lovable. He is a great independent player, always looking out for Sissy too though. Oh yes Lexi is Sissy to him, that is her name as far as he is concerned. Great motor skills, like extremely great to me. Loves to play dress up in old Halloween costumes, always wants to be a "Botbot" (Robot) which is actually a ninja suit from when Lane was a baby. He is my itty bitty baby boy. He just seems tiny to me, I could just eat him up! He gives big open mouth kisses and if he thinks I am giving Sissy to much attention he runs as fast and as hard as he can right into me and thinks it's hilarious, then hugs and kisses me and takes off again. While in the nursery at church a few weeks ago, my friend walked by and saw another little boy push Lexi down. Lexi started crying and the nursery worker went and picked her up and was loving her, she said out of no where Lucas runs up and pushes that kid down, so I guess you could say he looks out for his sister!

So right now life is full of laughs and fun times for the most part and I love it. We don't have a lot of money but we are happy and in love with these beautiful little blessings. Time is just flying by and my babies are growing up, it makes me sad. Although I wouldn't mind fast-forwarding through the potty training. (which they are SO not ready for at this time) Sometimes I want to rewind and have my two little babies again and my bouncy energetic 2 yr old but at this moment I just want to press pause and enjoy the moment we are in right now.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Don't Laugh at me

I'm a little boy with glasses
The one they call the geek
A little girl who never smiles
'Cause I've got braces on my teeth
And I know how it feels
To cry myself to sleep

I'm that kid on every playground
Who's always chosen last
A single teenage mother
Tryin' to overcome my past
You don't have to be my friend
But is it too much to ask

Don't laugh at me
Don't call me names
Don't get your pleasure from my pain
In God's eyes we're all the same
Someday we'll all have perfect wings
Don't laugh at me

I'm the cripple on the corner
You've passed me on the street
And I wouldn't be out here beggin'
If I had enough to eat
And don't think I don't notice
That our eyes never meet

I lost my wife and little boy when
Someone cross that yellow line
The day we laid them in the ground
Is the day I lost my mind
And right now I'm down to holdin'
This little cardboard sign...so

Don't laugh at me
Don't call me names
Don't get your pleasure from my pain
In God's eyes we're all the same
Someday we'll all have perfect wings
Don't laugh at me

I'm fat, I'm thin, I'm short, I'm tall
I'm deaf, I'm blind, hey, aren't we all

Don't laugh at me
Don't call me names
Don't get your pleasure from my pain
In God's eyes we're all the same
Someday we'll all have perfect wings
Don't laugh at me




I have always loved this song. I love it more now. This is Lane, our oldest on his 4th birthday. I love this little guy. He can be so difficult and frustrating but everything good is worth working for right? He is definitely worth it all. He has a severe speech delay that makes other children laugh at him quiet a bit. It breaks my heart. He doesn't completely understand it yet and thinks they are more laughing with him right now, so he just acts silly. One day he will though and it will break my heart even more.
We took him to a Child Specialist just to figure out if anything else was going on with him. We were told he is very intelligent :) though he does have some delays. The Dr. believes they are mostly due to my pregnancy with the twins and then us having 2 little babies to take care of when he was so young. Yea a big dose of Mommy guilt was served up to me! The Dr. didn't intentionally make me feel bad, it just happens. Lane is catching up wonderfully though. He also told us that the problem was not with language which works in a certain part of your brain, the problem is just the speech in his mouth. We are also going to get him to see an ENT to make sure there isn't something going on there bc the boy snores like a grown man sometimes.
The Dr. also said that he is a VERY PRO-SOCIAL child, my child? Me that is so shy I turn red when someone new talks to me? We aren't sure where he gets it. We blame Donny's grandma bc she has never met a stranger, lol. We love her to death and she keeps us laughing just like Lane does. He explained that is why he gets so up close in other children's faces bc he wants them to like him so much and he is so used to people not understanding him, he wants them to so badly. The Dr. explained things really well and we left there happy and satisfied with his evaluation.
My little pro-social boy with a speech problem just wants others to like him and understand him, this often makes other dislike him and laugh at him. It is heartbreaking to me of course I want everyone to see the good in him like I do. This song just fits him perfect to me. I pray that the other mommies out there try to teach their children to be nice to everyone despite their differences. Don't label a child as "bad" right off the bat and make your children judge quickly too. God loves us all and we are all his children, and just so you know, none of us are perfect!

It's been a while but I am still here.

I know I know I am an awful blogger. Things have been crazy. We moved to a town closer to Donny's job. I was worried about doing it but it was definitely the best thing for us. I am so much happier now. We see Donny in the morning before work, at lunch and he is home by 5!! That makes it worth it to me! Our new house is next door to a really good friend of mine too, so that makes it better. I do miss some of my old friends but we keep in touch through Facebook and by phone so it's ok. We still know we are always there for each other if needed. Since moving the kids have been sick over and over and over and over, it seems. We are ALL finally well for the moment :) Which makes me SO HAPPY as Lane would say! Lane had a birthday :) He is now 4 and is acting so much better. He is maturing so much and understanding so much more and can be a good little helper, if he is in the mood for it, lol. I plan on blogging more, I promise! My computer I blog on is now in our bedroom and that makes it harder for me to do so that is another reason for my slacking. I am still alive and doing well though :) More blogs to come, I promise!

Thursday, February 4, 2010

Things I have learned along the way

Yes this is a picture of my babies fighting over who gets to Momma first. No Lexi didn't get hit in the head with the bat. Why did I use this picture you ask? Because it happens. Fighting happens with siblings. These two play wonderful together, they share most of the time, they take turns with the help of Momma making them, they give each other sweet kisses and hugs but the truth is they still fight over who Momma picks up first. Most of the time if I am holding one of them then I have to hold the other. They are jealous of each other, especially Lucas. If Lucas sees Lexi coming to be then he runs past her ( he has the speed), pushes her back and jumps on me. What do I do, nothing. I let them solve the little things themselves. If one of them is getting hurt, or I think they will be hurt them I step in. I
I want to raise them to take up for themselves and work out their own problems when possible. When one falls and I KNOW they aren't hurt, what do I do? I turn my head and act like I didn't see it. Some people may think I am a mean or uncaring Mom, I am not. What do they do when they fall and aren't hurt? Instantly look to see if Momma saw them fall, if she did they cry and act as if their world is ending, if she didn't they get up and start playing again. I am a boo-boo kisser but for these things there are no boo-boos to kiss.

THE BOTTLE

I am not a pro at this parenting thing, believe me! I am just sharing what worked for me with my 3 kiddos. If you are a breastfeeding Mom (YAY for you!) ignore this bc I was not successful at breastfeeding Lane so I didn't try with the twins. I want to say that I DO believe the breast is the best! If you can and want to do it, go for it. If you are a bottle feeder I will share my experiences with you.
I hate the bottle. It always made my life harder while going places. I had to pack a diaper bag with so much junk already and hated having to drag around a container of formula and however many bottles you thought your child may need. I am a planner and always think ahead and always prepare for worst case scenario so I always carried way more than needed. Lane was off of the bottle at 11 months and Lucas and Lexi were off at 10 months. It made my life SO much easier. No more washing bottles! With the twins that was a BIG plus! Let me say it is recommended up keep your child on formula for at least 12 months. I did with Lane in the sippy cups, I didn't with the twins. They are healthy and weren't drinking many bottles anyway. (they like FOOD) I do use whole milk bc I think the small ones need the vitamins and fat in it.
TIPS
1.Do not get your baby hooked to taking a bottle to go to sleep, BIG mistake! I know that when they are itty bitty newborn they do this, at this time they don't do much more but eat and sleep. Once they are bigger and eating food then you can slack off on that. I would even feed my kids a bottle and then play with them a little bit to keep them up just so they didn't think they HAD to have that bottle just to go to sleep. When kids think they need that bottle to fall asleep it makes it harder on Mom in the middle of the night. If they want to have something give them a paci, my kids all have loved their paci's.
2. Do not prop the bottle up in the bed or wherever he/she may be. I know many people do this, I do not like it one bit. I believe it leads to ear infections and is not good for baby. When a baby is laying down drinking then the fluid can go right down to their ear, no I am not a Dr. but my pediatrician told me this all the time when my kids were small and I sure yours tells you this too. I also believe that baby needs that bonding time with Mommy. It is special, enjoy it, it doesn't last long. If I can have 2 at a time and hold them for almost every single feeding you can do your one, I promise. Sometimes I have to put them in their bouncy seats and feed them bottles at the same time if they were both really hungry and going nuts.
3. I would never give my baby a bottle to have on their own in the bed with them, not my style. Same goes with Lane, no cups in his room at bedtime, that is not a good thing to start and horrible for potty training. This goes back to the no feeding while laying down. I feel strongly about these things, maybe because all of my kids suffered from reflux and HAD to be fed in an upright position. I have a fear of babies choking on their bottles at an early age too. Lane choked on everything as a small baby. I think this increases ear infections, Lane did not have an ear infection until he was over 2 yrs old, and I believe this is the reason. I am not saying that if your child has a lot of ear infections it is your fault, Lucas has already had 2 and I have done the same with him, he just has lots of drainage and it builds up there.
4. Once you take the bottle away DON'T GO BACK!!!! Lane wanted a bottle a few times after he was off of it, but I didn't give in. That is the biggest mistake you can make. Consistency is definitely the key to parenting. ( I am not always great at this but I was with the bottles) So many parents say well they were off of the bottle for a while and then they got sick so I gave it back. That bottle does not make your child better people! It was probably the fact that you held them more to give them the bottle or something like that. Just don't do it, never look back. Once you take it away for good, throw them out and never look back! I did make sure mine were weaned down to 2 bottles a day before taking it away. I did this gradually. With Lucas and Lexi they were extremely easy to break. Lucas basically refused to drink out of them anymore and so I put them away. Lexi just followed along and didn't care at all. Never any tears or anything for them.
5. Introduce sippy cups early. My children started getting a sippy of water with meals around 5 months. I would feed them their food and give them drinks out the cups, just to get them used to it. They didn't drink much of the water then but got used to the cup.
6. Don't give your baby juice. Why do parents do this? What is the point? Give your baby water. It is good for them. It is wonderful to give your children water when they are small so they will be used to it and like it. They won't think they have to have that extra flavor. I did not do this with Lane and he is a juice head, lol. He thinks he needs juice all the time. He does drink water but only after telling me that is not what he wants. Lucas and Lexi only drink milk and water. Unless one is constipated. Juice cleans them out really good. Or if one of them gets a hold of Lane's cup, that is never pretty. They have milk with meals and water with snacks. Sometimes I give them more milk if I don't think they are eating enough food. Milk is good for kids and so is water. I never gave my kids juice in a bottle either, not a good idea in my book. Juice is like crack to babies. They LOVE it. It is sweet and yummy, why make them associate it with a bottle when you are going to try to break them from a bottle soon?
Sleeping
I am not a co-sleeper, nothing wrong with it, it just wasn't for us. Donny is a WILD sleeper. He kicks, hits, yells and acts crazy. I was always afraid my baby would be hurt. I turn in my sleep a lot and always worried about smothering a baby. Plus my husband and I very much like our private time! We like to have our own space that is baby free (once we move them out of our room that is) Many moms do it and say that it makes them sleep better and feel more secure, I do not think they are wrong, I am just saying it wouldn't work for US. I did have all of our kids in our bedroom in the beginning though just not in our bed. Lane stayed in our room longer because of his severe reflux, he would get choked all through the night and have to be picked up to catch his breath and clear his throat. After him doing that I was a worry wart and kept him in our room until he was 6 months old. At 6 months he had stopped getting choked in the night for a while and he was not sleeping good. Daddy was ready for more privacy again too and I was happy to get the baby bed out of our room. We moved him into his own room and the 2nd night he slept all night and slept so much better than he had in our room. I didn't get any sleep at first because I was so worried. I had a baby monitor though and soon started sleeping good too. With Lucas and Lexi we had them in our room in pack-n-plays for about 2 months, then moved them to their rooms into their cribs. They didn't choke in the night like Lane had and they were getting to cramped in the pack-n-play bassinet thing. They still woke up for feeding of course but slept better still. I didn't worry as much and slept good, mostly because I was so tired I think, lol.
Tips
1. Always put your baby to bed AWAKE! This is so very important. We did not do this with Lane and had a problem with him for a while, when we finally had to start it , it was hard and a whole process of crying it out and such but once we did it, it worked out so much better for us all. With Lucas and Lexi I had to start doing this a lot earlier because I had 3 kids to tend to. I couldn't rock both of them until they fell asleep and then do the other. I did at first, it didn't work. I was rocking a baby all day, add trying to potty train a 2 yr old to that, it just doesn't work. So I started laying them down awake. Yes they screamed at first. I have NEVER heard a baby scream louder than Miss Lexi, she is LOUD, believe me but it had to be done. Before long they went to sleep on their own and did great. Now I lay them down and they may whine a second every once in a while but they always go to sleep on their own. They actually won't go to sleep while I am holding them so this works out good. I have found that they sleep so much better at night if they go to sleep on their own too, I don't know why but it's true. Obviously this doesn't apply for a newborn baby or an infant bc they fall asleep while you are feeding them and such.
2. Paci's are my friends when they are little. I don't want mine stuck on the bottle in the middle of the night, I would much rather give them their paci's. I broke Lane of his paci except for sleeping at around 13 months, I haven't done that for the twins. They love them and it just makes my life a lot easier right now, lol. They are teething and it helps them. Lane had more teeth by this age and once I had taken it away I wasn't giving it back during the day. Like I said Consistency is the key. So for now Lucas and Lexi still suck paci's when they want. I will break it down to less soon, when I am up for the challenge. So once they are older and eating baby food and you know they don't NEED that bottle in the middle of the night ( my dr. actually told me when it was with all of them, I am thinking around 6 months?) try giving them the paci in the night instead of a bottle. Don't pick them up, just give it to them and lay them back down. I pat their back and tell them it is night night time and I love them. If you pick them up they will keep doing it, they are smart little stinkers!
Taking them out in public
I know people that didn't take their kids out to eat until they were 2! Just bc they were afraid of a scene. I like to go out. I sit at home all day, every day and enjoying getting out into the real world. My husband would stay at home and not take them out anywhere if it was possible. Yes it can be embarrassing. They will scream sometimes. They will poop, they will spit up, they will act like they have no sense but how do you expect them to learn? I am sure many of you have seen me out with mine. Yes I do claim that red headed one that is usually screaming for candy, he is mine, I admit it. He stays in the house way to much and doesn't know how to act sometimes. He is loud and stubborn and loves candy. Should I stay home 24/7 because my child is loud and cries for candy, I don't think so. There is a local restaurant that we love that has a huge gumball machine right at the door. So every time we went there Lane would cry for candy. We have gotten many dirty looks and stares for him but hey what are you going to do? Certainly not reward him for acting that way and he IS our kid so we kinda have to bring him along. I am very happy to report that he has not thrown a fit for that candy in a while. (after a year of going nuts for it) Consistency! We won, even though it took forever, pick your battles and some are worth fighting. This one was to us because I didn't want him to think he could have whatever he wanted by acting like a crazy person!
Lucas and Lexi are not as strong willed as Lane and we haven't had as much of a problem with them, maybe we can just handle it better now? I don't know. I do remember when they were probably 2 months old, us going out to eat for a pizza buffet after church. We had nobody to go with us but we really wanted to go. I don't think people without multiples think about how hard simple things can be for the parents. So we go, Lane is still 2 yrs old and wild btw. We have both babies in their carriers, Donny fixes our plates and we start to eat, both babies start to cry, Lane starts to whine, we are trying to get some food in us so we can tend to the babies, then Lane has to potty, great. So I am sitting here holding one baby while the other is sitting in the carrier screaming. I am rocking the carrier trying to comfort him but he just wants held. I got so many dirty looks, to you people I say POO on YOU! LOL Finally another mother came over and asked if she could help. She was very sweet and saw that I was overwhelmed. At that time Donny and Lane came back and she didn't have to do anything but it was nice of her to offer. Another point of mine is us moms need to stick together, offer a helping hand, don't judge someone because their child is acting like a lunatic. It could just as easy be your child. I promise Lane doesn't act crazy at home like he sometimes does out in public. Kids have their bad days and bad moments. Never say your child won't be like that because I promise you will eat those words!!!
They are all different
I will not sugar coat it, Lane can be a difficult child. He can also be the most loving and sweetest thing ever. He does not listen well and you have to tell him things over and over. He doesn't want to play with his brother and sister a lot but is VERY protective of them. He wants to go with anybody that will let him. He is very outgoing and always wants to talk to everyone he meets.
Lexi is sassy but she is kinda a push over. She lets Lucas have the toys she is playing with a lot of the time to avoid a fight but if she has something she really wants she will fight for it, and boy can she fight if she wants to. She is a momma's girl but wants her daddy to watch everything she does. She likes to point at you and shake her little finger in your face if she is mad. She loves to meet new people and always has a smile for them.
Lucas is never still. He goes non stop. He does not walk, he runs. He is very jealous of me. He is very loving and loves giving kisses. He thinks Lane is the greatest thing ever even though Lane is mean to him most of the time. He does not like strangers at all, he will hide his face or give them a mean look.
My point is that I have 3 kids that came from the same 2 parents and they are all so completely different. I remember when I was pregnant with the twins and Donny was going on and on about how baby boys and baby girls really act the same, it is just that people treat them different, boy was he wrong. It has really been amazing and fun to have one of each at the same time going through the same stages. Boys and girls are very different let me tell you. Both of my boys have been more hyper and want to go go go, Lexi is calm and will sit and play with a toy and be content. Lucas will run all over the house and run from me (lane was the same) and Lexi will stay with me and walk with me when I tell her to come on. Lexi pouts, the boys hit.
It is not just their sex though, it is just them. They have their own little personalities from the beginning. Some kids will repeat after you and do as you ask to show your friends their cute little tricks, some kids will look at you like you are stupid for asking to show your friends what they can do, and some kids will hide their face in your shirt if you ask them to talk to anybody else. They will also all hit milestones at different time. Try hard not to compare. Lane didn't crawl until he was 9 months old and walk at 14-15 months, Lucas crawled at 6 months, walked at 9 months, Lexi crawled at 7 months, walked at 11 months.No child is the same as another. So if you are having your 2nd child, don't expect them to be a little replica of your first. Don't see a child in the grocery store throwing a fit and think to yourself "That Mom is not doing something right, if that were MY child they wouldn't be acting like that." YOU WILL EAT YOUR WORDS, believe me, I HAVE!!!
Potty training
I HATE Potty training! HATE IT!!! At around 15 months old I could tell anytime Lane had to poop, time for potty training, I thought! WRONG!!! BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER! I watched him all day to see the "right face" he would make to see if he had to go. I would rush him to the potty and he'd go, did great too. But I wasn't training HIM, I was training ME! It was so not worth it either. He couldn't care less. He had no interest in the potty. He started crying when I would mention it, it was horrible for us both. He was going when I would take him but he hated it and I hated doing it. Remember my law though consistency is the key, well with this one I had to break it. It was my fault, I started to early for him. Some children do train that early, not him, he was no way ready. I think I have learned from that though. Donny is already talking potty training the twins, I am saying NO way! I am not ready for it and I don't think they are anywhere close to being ready for it. I don't know what I have in store for training 2 either. I may have to do them separately because they may not be ready at the same time, who knows. So I started with Lane at 15 months, and he was trained right after his 3rd birthday, good job for me right? haha Wait until you think they are ready, he obviously wasn't. Don't jump the gun, it is a pain in the butt once you start it anyways!
SIBLINGS
I dreamed of Lane helping me care for the twins, bringing me diapers, holding their bottles, wanting to kiss them. What did he do? Well at first he was excited. He does love them but he gets sick of them. He got tired of hearing about the babies. He got tired of Mommy and Daddy having to take care of them all the time. (probably a lot easier when you have 1 more, I don't know) He got tired of hearing don't touch that, it's the baby's. Now he gets tired of them getting his toys, he gets tired of them crying, he gets tired of hearing, wait a minute Mommy has to do this for the baby. He does love them but he needs his breaks. When he gets really frustrated I will let him go in the other room and play without them around. He has just started wanting to go to his bedroom and play alone which I think is great for him. He gets jealous of how much time I spend tending to them and then he acts out. I realized that was why he was acting out and read in a book to talk to him about it and tell him he doesn't have to act like that if he wants attention, just ask for a hug, I thought yea right! But it does help. He still needs and deserves way more alone time with Mommy than he gets but I am doing the best I can for now. He is starting to play with them more but is usually way to rough. My point in this is that it may not be the way you thought it would be but just make the best of it. Let them know that you still love them and they are still important too. I would love to have one day a week where Lane and I go and hang out together alone, but I don't have a babysitter so that is not possible right now. He does go and hang out with his grandparents on his own a lot and he really enjoys that.
Your spouse
The dumbest thing I have ever heard of is when people have kids to try to make their marriage or relationship work. That is soooo stupid. Sure you love your kids, you want them to be happy, you do everything you can for them but they are WORK! They are stressful, they are demanding, they are expensive and they just plain wear you out! They put a strain on the relationship, they don't magically cure it. Please only plan a baby if you are in a good spot with your spouse, don't have a baby to try to save the relationship it will not work. It is so easy after you have a child to think about all of the things you do. Especially a worn out mom that sits at home all day and cares for all of the kids, like me. You start making lists in your head thinking, well I did this and this and this, he didn't do anything around here all day and I am tired of doing it all. You start to compare what you do to what they do, bad idea. A better way to go about this is to talk to your loved one and say look I need your help. Lets work together. You do this and I will do that. Women most of the time your man won't mind, they honestly just don't think like we do. They don't think of all the things that have to be done before you go to bed, all the bottles, washed, all the toys picked up. Ask for help, in a nice way, usually that is all it takes. You will be so much happier and in return be nicer, and they will be happier!
God
This is important to me.
1. Be thankful to God for these precious little gifts. He thinks a lot of you to trust you with them.
2. You are responsible for what this child is exposed to.
3. Pray for your kids. I pray for mine, ALL the time. To me God is like my best friend that I talk to all the time. I don't have to start a prayer, with Dear Heavenly Father or whatever. I just talk. He hears me, he knows what's up. You wouldn't believe how much it helps when you are having a bad day to just talk to God. Pray for your kids, pray for yourself. He is always there listening, he loves you and wants to help when needed.
4. Salvation. Teach your kids about it. We talk to Lane about Jesus know, he doesn't understand that good but we try. Again pray for your children's salvation, I do even though mine are little and don't understand. I pray that one day they come to know the Lord and ask him into their heart, I mean isn't that the most important thing EVER?
Little tips
1. Don't yell. A mistake I have learned from and have a 3 yr older yeller because of. It is my fault, I know it. I still do it but try VERY hard not to.
2. Try to find another non-judging mom to talk to, it helps.
3. Trust in your husband, he is there to help you. He is not helpless.
4. Don't rush your kids to do everything, they will do it in their own time, just enjoy them. Each stage goes by so fast.
5. Used things are ok. Don't think you are to good! You aren't!
Ok I am done for now. I am no pro my any means but this is just how things have worked out for us.